Review: A History of Glitter and Blood

I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

history of glitter and bloodTitle: A History of Glitter and Blood

Author: Hannah Moskowitz

Series: Standalone

Published: July 28, 2015 by Chronicle Books (expected)

Pages: 280

Source: eARC

Sixteen-year-old Beckan and her friends are the only fairies brave enough to stay in Ferrum when war breaks out. Now there is tension between the immortal fairies, the subterranean gnomes, and the mysterious tightropers who arrived to liberate the fairies.

But when Beckan’s clan is forced to venture into the gnome underworld to survive, they find themselves tentatively forming unlikely friendships and making sacrifices they couldn’t have imagined. As danger mounts, Beckan finds herself caught between her loyalty to her friends, her desire for peace, and a love she never expected.

This stunning, lyrical fantasy is a powerful exploration of what makes a family, what justifies a war, and what it means to truly love.


Wow….I actually finished this book that soooo many people have DNF. Most of the Goodreads reviews were all about DNFing the book. I was agreeing with sooo many of them but I felt like I had to see this one through. VERY few people actually gave it 5 stars and I kinda wanted to know why. My curiosity won out for this book.

The story follows 3 fairies, Scrap, Beckan and Josha. There used to be 4 but one got eaten. The fairies live in a city called Ferrum where they live above ground and the gnomes live underground. Gnomes love the taste of fairies and so most fairies are not quite whole. Then one day the tightropers come and say there is war! The fairies leave except the 4 that stayed and they try to survive.

This is a tough book to review. First off, the book doesn’t start making sense until halfway through. It was tough getting through the first half of the book. I had NO IDEA what was going on, who was actually talking, why there was a war and the characters made no sense. It wasn’t until the later half that it started to make more sense so I’m glad I stuck it out. But it was hard. The voice of the book was hard to understand. It was like a story written in the past tense and then it became the present and then IDK. It wasn’t lyrical at all like what it says in the description. The world building was non-existant which was sad because I LOVE that about books especially in fantasy. The characters were never really described besides the glitter and their personalities were interesting but again hard to get a grasp of.

I don’t think I would recommend this book to anyone. This was tough and I still don’t get how people are giving this a 5 star rating….I can only give it a 2.

4

signature

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: A History of Glitter and Blood

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (24) | My Life as a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

