Review: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice and Great Expectations

I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

PrideandPrejudice-coverTitle: Pride and Prejudice

Author: Jane Austen (original), Stacy King (Editor), and Po Tse (Illustrator)

Published: August 19th, 2014 by Udon Entertainment

Pages: 377

Source: eARC

Beloved by millions the world over, Pride & Prejudice is delightfully transformed in this bold, new manga adaptation. All of the joy, heartache, and romance of Jane Austen’s original, perfectly illuminated by the sumptuous art of manga-ka Po Tse, and faithfully adapted by Stacy E. King.


What a great adaptation to such a wonderful book. Sadly I haven’t had the chance to actually read the original story by Jane Austen but I’ve seen so many movie/TV versions that I feel like I know it by heart.

For people who have never read Manga before it does a great job of showing you how to read it and follow along. In Japan where manga originates from they read right to left and so yes this is different it wasn’t all that bad. I’ve read manga before so it wasn’t a hassle but Udon Entertainment does a good job for newbies. My only issue was that I had to read it through Adobe Digital and i had to go backwards which was a pain but if you have the book in hand its so easy.

The illustrations are what manga is all about and this does not disappoint. Darcy is charming and oh so sexy. Elizabeth and Jane are drawn so well and are so beautiful.  Large eyes is a thing with mangas and their eyes don’t disappoint. LOL

The manga follows the story pretty well and of course it shortens it but the themes are still there and everything that basically happens. It’s a great story and adaptation. I highly suggest reading this if you want a different take on Pride and Prejudice!

2


I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

great expectationsTitle: Great Expectations

Author: Charles Dickens (original), Stacy King (Editor), Crystal Chan (Editor), and Nokman Poon (Illustrator)

Published: March 10th, 2015 by Udon Entertainment

Pages: 308

Source: eARC

Experience CLASSIC tales in MANGA format!

Considered to be Charles Dickens finest novel, Great Expectations has it all: romance, mystery, comedy and unforgettable characters woven through a gripping rags-to-riches tale.

In the telling of Pip’s story, Dickens traces a naïve boy’s path from a hardscrabble rural life to the teeming streets of 19th-century London, unfolding a gripping tale of crime and guilt, revenge and reward, and love and loss. Its compelling characters include Magwitch, the fearful and fearsome convict; beautifully cold Estella, whose allure is excelled only by her haughtiness; and the embittered Miss Havisham, an eccentric jilted bride and the rest of Dickens’s fantastic cast are perfectly envisioned in this brilliant adaptation featuring the beautiful artwork by Nokman Poon.


I haven’t read any of Dickens novels though they are on my TBR list. BBC did a movie based on this book that I have in my queue on Netflix. So I had no idea what the story was about or have any bias as to what they left out and what not. The nice thing was that the authors at the end did talk about how they adapted the novel the way they did and the ending debate(which I know nothing about but was interested to read about).

Again, the illustrations were amazing! And each character was so well drawn that they were leaping out of the pages. You wanted to strangle Pip at times because of his attitude but that just made his growth have so much more meaning. All the characters were great and had such emotion.

I highly recommend this manga to people who want to eventually read Great Expectations but haven’t gotten around to it and would like another way to reading it. 2signature

4 thoughts on “Review: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice and Great Expectations

  1. I never knew that there was a manga version of Pride and Prejudice and Great Expectations! I knew that some of the classics were being adapted as graphic novels but manga?? Never heard of it. Thanks for putting this on my radar! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (19) | My Life as a Bookworm

  3. Pingback: June Monthly ReCap | My Life as a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

