Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy

I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

fangirlTitle: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy

Author: Sam Maggs

Publisher: Quirk Books

Published: May 12th, 2015

Pages: 208

Source: eARC

Fanfic, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more—it’s never been a better time to be a girl geek. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is the ultimate handbook for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom. With delightful illustrations and an unabashed love for all the in(ternet)s and outs of geek culture, this book is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes for everything from starting an online fan community to planning a convention visit to supporting fellow female geeks in the wild.


I’m blown away by this book. I’ve always been a geek about movies or tv shows or anime. My friends never got so obsessed about anything like that so I’ve always felt alone. An example: I fell in love with Sailor Moon back in the 7th grade. I would come home from school and go upstairs to my parents room and secretly watch it. I never told anyone because none of my friends watched anime and I was embarrassed to say anything. Years later I go to college and meet one of my hall mates that loves anime and is obsessed with Sailor Moon. She even had the original Sailor Moon dvds when they first came out. I only watched it in English (dubbed) and finally watched it in Japanese (subbed) and was blown away. I actually had someone to talk to about this! We bonded so much but sadly I left that college and moved back home. It was again a secret obsession I kept close to my heart. Then I got myself a boyfriend who appreciated my Sailor Moon feels and got me the new manga that was coming out (we broke up eventually) but I found a new friend who was into Sailor Moon. Though not as big of a fan like before but enough that we have now watched the new series and discuss it over texts (though she is very far behind). And now I follow some people on twitter and facebook and pin things on Pinterest. I’m sorta open about my obsession with Sailor Moon but I don’t go out and tell everyone about it. It’s still my little secret but the internet has allowed me to express my feelings.

This book is a great introduction into a fangirl’s world. I learned new words that I’ve seen around the blogosphere and I can now understand what they are saying. Even if you are just starting out as a fangirl or been a fangirl for years this is a great book! It gave so many tips and I even learned about a YA Book club in my state that will be meeting soon! I hope to meet up with them and make friends! It also gave tips on how to go to Cons! I just have sooo many FEELS about this book!!! I suggest buying it!!!!

1

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (15) | My Life as a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: May Monthly Recap | My Life as a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

