Quick Book Reviews

So I don’t really have time to write out full reviews for every book that I read and so I figured that doing quick book reviews was best. I got this idea from It Starts At Midnight’s: Books I’m Never Reviewing where she just writes quick blurbs about the books that she has read. It’s a great way to still post reviews but just a shortened version.


bakersdaughterThe Baker’s Daughter by Sarah McCoy

Published January 24, 2012 by Broadway Books

304 pages

Purchased as an eBook

In 1945, Elsie Schmidt was a naïve teenager, as eager for her first sip of champagne as she was for her first kiss. But in the waning days of the Nazi empire, with food scarce and fears of sedition mounting, even the private yearnings of teenage girls were subject to suspicion and suppression. Elsie’s courtship by Josef Hub, a rising star in the Army of the Third Reich, has insulated her and her family from the terror and desperation overtaking her country. So when an escaped Jewish boy arrives on Elsie’s doorstep in the dead of night on Christmas Eve, Elsie understands that opening the door puts all she loves in danger.

Sixty years later, in El Paso, Texas, Reba Adams is trying to file a feel-good Christmas piece for the local magazine. Reba is a rolling stone, perpetually on the run from memories of a turbulent childhood, but she’s been in El Paso long enough to get a full-time job and a full-time fiancé, Riki Chavez. Riki, an agent with the U.S. Border Patrol, finds comfort in strict rules and regulations, whereas Reba knows that in every good story, lines will be blurred.

Reba’s latest assignment has brought her to the shop of an elderly baker across town. The interview should take a few hours at most, but the owner of Elsie’s German Bakery is no easy subject. Elsie keeps turning the tables on Reba, and Reba finds herself returning to the bakery again and again, anxious to find the heart of the story. For Elsie, Reba’s questions have been a stinging reminder of darker times: her life in Germany during that last bleak year of WWII. And as Elsie, Reba, and Riki’s lives become more intertwined, all are forced to confront the uncomfortable truths of the past and seek out the courage to forgive.

Review: It was ok. I’ve read a lot of Holocaust books and this one fell flat compared to others. I didn’t really care for Reba’s storyline. I was more interested in Elsie’s story and how she survived it. McCoy was trying I guess to connect both characters and it just didn’t work well with me. It was a disappointing book

3


princewholovedmeThe Prince Who Loved Me by Karen Hawkins

Published September 23, 2014 by Pocket Books

384 pages

Series: The Oxenburg Princes #1

Purchased as an eBook.

A handsome, rakish prince who doesn’t believe in true love meets a stubborn lass who will settle for nothing less…

In a lighthearted retelling of a classic fairy tale, bestselling author Karen Hawkins gives Cinderella a Scottish twist!

Prince Alexsey Romanovin enjoys his carefree life, flirting—and more—with every lovely lady who crosses his path. But when the interfering Grand Duchess Natasha decides it’s time for her grandson to wed, Alexsey finds himself in Scotland, determined to foil her plans. Brainy, bookish, and bespectacled, Bronwyn Murdoch seems the perfect answer—she isn’t at all to the duchess’ taste.

Living at the beck and call of her ambitious stepmother and social butterfly stepsisters, Bronwyn has little time for a handsome flirt—no matter how intoxicating his kisses are. After all, no spoiled, arrogant prince would be seriously interested in a firm-minded female like herself. So . . . wouldn’t it be fun to turn his “game” upside down and prove that an ordinary woman can bring a prince to his knees?

Review: This had very little to do with Cinderella. It had aspects of it but very subtle and so I was a little put off by that. I love retellings of fairy tales and so I picked this up expecting that but it didn’t quite meet my expectations. Bronwyn is a strong heroine and didn’t annoy me like other romance heroines I’ve come across. Alexsey was annoying and all too arrogant for my taste. It was a long book so that made it better and there was a twist at the end which I wasn’t expecting so overall it was a good read!

3


signature

3 thoughts on “Quick Book Reviews

  1. Oh yay for mini reviews! Thanks so much for mentioning me 🙂 The first book… I honestly don’t think I could get past the fact that there is a “Reba” in a holocaust book, because I can only think of Reba McEntire and her show! (Which was also set in Texas, making it extra weird!) Sorry it was a disappointment 😦 With the second book, I DO like a good twist, and a strong heroine, but why does she like that jerky guy!?

    • No problem! I just love all the things you do on your blog! And yeah the Reba name was a little off for me too but I don’t think I ever thought of Reba McEntire but now that you’ve said it I won’t get it out of my head whenever I see the book. LOL But thanks for stopping by!!!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: May Monthly Recap | My Life as a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

