Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

I received a copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. The cover will take you to Goodreads.

girlatmidnightTitle: The Girl at Midnight

Author: Melissa Grey

Published: April 28, 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pages: 368

Source: eARC Thank you Random House Children’s for allowing me to read an advanced copy of this!

For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.


I haven’t read Shadow and Bone and a lot of people on Goodreads are saying that it is similar but good enough that it is it’s own book. But then some say it is too similar. I’m kinda glad that I am not biased while reading it unlike other books where they compare it to one of my favorite books. They did that in another eARC that I read called Seeker and you can read my rant/review on that HERE. Though it’s similar to The Mortal Instruments in that there are two warring species that hate one another and a young teenager that is smack dab in the middle of it all.

Though that teenager in The Girl at Midnight was a lot cooler and less whiney than Clara in TMI. Echo is the main character and she was found by the Ala when she was young and brought up in the magical world of the Avicen. The Avicen are magical beings with feathers as their hair. OMG I WANT FEATHERS AS HAIR! The descriptions of those feathers and what each being looked liked was beautiful. I could picture exactly what Grey was talking about. The Avicens have been at war with the Drakharin (magical beings that have scales kinda like DRAGONS!) for many centuries. No one knows the real reason why the war started but the Ala wants to end it. The only way to end this war is to the find the firebird and have control of it. That is where Echo comes in. Echo is a normal human girl that is trying to fit in when she steals a music box with a map to the location of the firebird. Echo gets drawn into the race to find it first but trouble follows her.

The story is told through many different POVS, mostly through Echo in the beginning until she meets the rest of the team and then it alternates between the teammates. Sometimes it does get a little hairy when trying to figure out whos POV it is but didn’t take away from the story. Echo is a strong and sarcastic girl who doesn’t take crap. She grows so much throughout this one book and I look forward to reading the next to see more of her growth. Ivy is a great friend but she was more of a back burner to the story, kinda wish she was more of a player. Caius is hot and steamy and I want you for myself. He has a dark painful past but knows that he can’t live in the past. It was just an all around great character personalities and I fell in love with all of them. There is sorta a love triangle but it’s not really there and present which I appreciated because I was going crazy thinking that that was where it was going.

And just look at that cover! It’s beautiful and subtle and PURPLE! Which is my favorite color. I would recommend this book to fellow fantasy lovers and people who want a good easy but funny book to read about magical people that have feathers and scales.

2

signature

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s