Waiting on Wednesday (2)

Waiting onWednesday

A weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where I highlight a book that I am looking forward to in the upcoming months/year.

palace

Title: Palace of Lifes

Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix

Series: Palace Chronicles Series #3

Published: April 7, 2015

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers

Pages: 368

 

 

Desmia discovers the reality of royalty is far from a fairy tale in this third adventure set in the Cinderella-esque world of Just Ella and Palace of Mirrors, from New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix.

Desmia and her twelve sister-princesses are ruling Suala together at last, a united front. The kingdom seems to have finally gotten its happily ever after, but Desmia, trained by a lifetime of palace intrigue, is not so sure. She desperately wants to believe all is well, but she can’t help seeing danger around every corner.

And then the unthinkable happens, and Desmia’s worst fears are confirmed. Now, without the support of the sister-princesses she’s grown to rely on or the trappings of royalty that have always convinced people to listen to her, Desmia must find the courage to seek out the truth on her own terms—and to determine the course of two kingdoms.


I was just browsing new books that were soon to be published on Barnes and Noble when I saw the book, “Just Ella” which sounded super familiar but the cover was different. So I clicked on it and to my amazement I read it and  it has become a series of books! Now, I haven’t read “Just Ella” in YEARS (it was published originally in 1999 and I was in 5th grade then and it’s being reissued with the new cover art which is beautiful!)…it’s probably more suited for middle schoolers but I of course have to reread this and the next in the series, “Palace of Mirrors” (which came out in 2008 and I graduated high school in 2007 so I could see how I would miss out on knowing this). Now since I am going to try to reread this book, we shall see if it still holds up to my past memory of it being good. I remember Ella being a strong heroine and really connecting with her. It was a different fairy tale retelling since its about what happens after the “happily ever after”.

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (2)

    • Yeah it is geared towards middle schoolers so it’s not surprising that most people haven’t heard of it and so I went and bought the first in the series and it was just as amazing then as it is now. And ALL three covers are beautiful! I’m soooo glad that they redid them because the old ones were just ugly. Thanks for stopping by! If you get the chance to read the series let me know and we can totally talk about it! Would be nice to hear someone else’s opinion.

Leave a Reply

