Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

seekerTitle: Seeker

Author: Arwen Elys Dayton

Source: eBook from Netgalley

Publisher: Random House Children’s- Delacorte BFYR

Published: February 10, 2015

Pages: 352

Rating: 2/5

For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor. As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend. But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought. And now it’s too late to walk away.


I had mixed feelings about this book. First off, don’t market this book as in line with A Game of Thrones or Hunger Games. It comes nothing near to those two. People will expect an epic fantasy or dystopian world and you get neither. I have actually no idea what this books genre is. I understand fantasy but is it historical or modern or what? I’ll get into that later. I received a copy of this from Netgalley for an honest review.

The book is split into 4 POVs, Quin, Shinobu, John, and Maud and into 4 Parts, Scotland, Other Times and Places, Hong Kong and Where All Roads Lead. Basically it follows 3 teenagers, Quin, Shinobu and John training to become Seekers. Seekers are people who fight the bad guys and save the good ones or so Quin and Shinobu thought. John on the other hand knows the true story-they are people who do evil things for wealth and greed and he has his own agenda for becoming a Seeker (revenge). Quin and Shinobu learn the secrets and become Seekers while John is rejected. That rejection turns him hard and his hatred for Quin’s father, who taught them all makes him betray everyone. Quin and Shinobu escape to Hong Kong to find new lives. Quin forgets her past and becomes a healer while Shinobu turns to drugs. Eventually John finds them and catches up with them. He loves Quin so much that it has become an obsession for him to possess her and to have her help him learn the secrets. Quin escapes and her memories come back to her. She realizes what she has to do and Shinobu finally comes out of his drug induced haze to help. Now Maud is known as the Young Dread, a person who Quin, Shinobu and John know little of besides her being creepy and silent. After the first part you start to know her history and into her mind. I like her a lot. I thought she was a much stronger character and I connected with her more than the others. She has her own plot which can make it seem confusing but with the different POVs it sorta works.

So this book was little confusing. The world itself I had no idea what it was all about. It seemed medieval but then it seemed modern. There were castles, opium dens, TVs, phones, horses, flying ships. It felt like the author was melding a whole bunch of different eras into one and it just didn’t quite work out. It just made for a confusing world where I could not picture what it was. I am a visual person and while I read I picture what the characters look like and where they are place and I just couldn’t do it for this book. It took away from the story. I also wish we had more of a backstory on the Seekers though you do get that as the book goes along it just takes a while. I also think the 4 POVs is a LOT! This book reminds me of another book I reviewed called Court by Cat Patrick. That also had a lot of POVs and got confusing and too much at once. So it was an ok book not the best. It probably could use some more editing.

2 thoughts on “Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

  1. First, YES Maud was way more likable than anyone else in this mess. Also, you seem to have a bit better grip on the story than I do, because I don’t have a clue. It picked up a little for me at the end, but overall, I still don’t know what that was all about! And you are so right, it is nothing like The Hunger Games OR Game of Thrones, so I don’t know who decided those were good comparisons to make! Great review 🙂

  2. Ha! The only reason why I think I might have understood it was because I kept rereading the paragraphs again and again. And the premise sounded similar to something else that I have read in the past but just can’t pinpoint what book it would have been. But thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

