Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

fairestTitle: Fairest

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar Chronicles # 0.5

Source: eBook (Purchased through Amazon)

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 222

Rating: 5/5

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.


I was so excited to have per-ordered this book and when I finally got it I just had to read it! I stayed up a little too late trying to finish it. I couldn’t put it down!

Basically this is a pretty long novella about Levana and her past. She is 15 years old when the book starts and her parents have just passed away from an assassination attempt. Her sister, Channary (weird but very unique name, I had no idea how to say it) is a cruel, selfish, haughty thing (I really should say person but….). You almost hate her as much as Levana maybe even more. Channary becomes Queen after her parents but she could care less about being Queen. The only perk she wants is to do some hanky-panky with whoever. What she does care about is tormenting her sister, Levana. You learn the backstory of why Levana wears a veil and why she never shows her face in public. It’s a sad story and you can sympathize with her but she is still very evil. And her evilness gets worse, she has a crush on a solider in her deceased parent’s guard and she just becomes obsessed with him. It’s really sad but extremely creepy at the same time. She just wants to be loved by someone and she basically forces him to love her. I mean come on..growing up in a family that doesn’t care and gives you no love or affection and is based solely on appearances how can one not grow up to be “evil” or not really knowing what love is. So she forces this guy to basically become her husband but all he can think about is his deceased wife, Solstice and his newborn daughter, WINTER! It was nice to get more background on the upcoming heroine. Eventually Channary dies and Levana becomes Queen. She wants to be a good Queen for her people and she sorta is. She wants to make things better for the people but she has this twisted view of what “better” is. The virus, the beasts, and shells. You get a more in-depth look into what was happening on Luna as Cinder was growing up unaware.

So this was a really good in-depth look at Levana and the events leading up to Cinder. I do recommend reading books 1-3 first and then reading this before Winter. Reading it before Cinder, you really won’t understand the backstory as much. I can’t wait for Winter to come out and I feel like I need to re-read Cinder, Scarlet and Cress before Winter comes out!

2 thoughts on “Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

  1. I really want to start this series, it’s on my list of “to buy”, but I have so many books already purchased on my TBR shelf I keep telling myself I have to read some of those first. And then I see reviews like this one, and it just makes me want to buy the first book and start it already! *laughs*

    But at least I know it’ll be good once I do get to read it.

    • Ha I know the feeling! I have sooo many on my TBR list it’s not even funny. I have 128 books on my Nook right now and I probably haven’t even gone through half of them and I just keep adding more (oops). LOL But I highly recommend reading The Lunar Chronicles soon because Winter the last installment is coming out and you don’t want to miss out!!

Leave a Reply

