The Martian

Apollo 13 meets Cast Away in this grippingly detailed, brilliantly ingenious man-vs-nature survival thriller, set on the surface of Mars.

the martian

5/5 stars!!!

I didn’t know what to expect out of this book when I picked it up. I saw that it won a Goodreads award and it was on sale on Amazon for a short time. Forget exactly for how much. But when I started it I was blown away. The novel follows Mark Watney who set in the future is on Mars with his crew collecting samples. A dust storm blows in and BAM! He is left for dead, his crewmates couldn’t find him and the data from his spacesuit had no readings so they left Mars. Mark wakes up and realizes that he is still alive but very much alone. He travels to the Hab which is basically a canvas tent with supplies but not enough supplies to keep him alive for four years which is when the next crew is suppose to land on Mars. This is his survival story and how he copes with surviving on Mars.

The story is pretty heavy with scientific jargon but most of it is explained fairly well. I learned a lot from this book that I probably wouldn’t have looked up myself. Though it does get heavy at times and I glimpsed over the jargon as the book went on it was still interesting. I was laughing throughout the whole book though, Mark has a funny wit and humor and you can just picture him in his Hab cussing up a storm(which by the way the f-bomb is used VERY frequently, which I don’t care but FYI). I did have to put the book down for 2 months to catch up on other books and tv shows but when I did pick it back up, I got sucked right back into the story and didn’t put it down until I finished. It was nerve-racking reading some chapters because you didn’t know if he survived or not or if he was hurt badly! I just couldn’t put it down!!! The book does kinda end with no real ending but I feel like that the author left it up to the reader to decide his fate which for this book, I think it works best.

I would definitely recommend this book to any geeks, nerds, scientists, anyone who is interested in space and what not. I really liked it and I’m SUPER glad I picked it up! You can find it on Amazon, Barnes and Noble and I’m sure there is a waitlist at your public library but GET ON THAT LIST!!!

Leave a Reply

