Dragonholder: The Life and Dreams (So Far) of Anne McCaffrey

So I picked this book out from Netgalley. So thank you Open Roads Integrated Media for the chance to review this even though it’s a tad late (SO sorry about that). I grew up reading Anne’s books back in middle school and high school. It’s been FOREVER since I actually picked up any of her books so when I saw this I was ecstatic to learn more about her as an author. I believe my first book of hers that I read was Dragonsong which I fell in love with. 711D9jugVHLI don’t remember much but I just remember wanting to read more. Now that I have read this I look forward to going back and reading her stories again.


Rating: 4/5 stars

An enthralling biography of one of the most luminous shining stars of fantasy and science fiction, world builder and dragon master Anne McCaffrey, written by her son, collaborator, and most devoted fan.

Originally published in 1999, Open Road Media have re-released this with a new cover which I love.cover56820-medium The book starts out with Anne’s grandparents and then parents and her life leading up to her buying Dragonhold in 1988.It goes through the ups and downs of her life and it was great to get a glimpse of the workings inside her wonderful head. Though it’s short stories about the people they met it still meant a lot to me to read how she came up with the characters and what she had to do to get her name out there. The only issue is that it still ends in 1988 and does not tell us what happened between that and her passing in 2011. Overall though it was a quick read, less than 100 pages I think and I would recommend it to anyone who has read any of her Pern series. Todd does a wonderful job with the storytelling and is worth the time to read.

Leave a Reply

