As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride

I received this book as aprincess bride Christmas gift from my Aunt and Uncle. I fell in LOVE with the movie when I was younger and always had a crush on Westley. The movie itself is a classic and I’m so glad I own the movie because I have seen it sooo many times. If you haven’t seen it, OMG YOU NEED TO WATCH IT!!! Yeah, the title sounds boring but it’s so much more. Now Cary Elwes who played Westley kinda fell off the grid for me. I was young when I first saw The Princess Bride and so he didn’t really do any “kids” movies for a while until “Ella Enchanted”. Don’t even get me STARTED on that movie (they butchered PrincessBride_019Pyxurz-640x420it soooo badly). Besides that I was excited to see Cary Elwes again in a movie and when I heard that he was writing a book about The Princess Bride….of course I had to have it.

This was a quick read for me. I basically finished it on my plane ride home from MD to VT after New Years. It basically tells the back-story of how Cary got the lead role as Westley, meet everyone, his interactions with the cast, the premiere, and what happened years later. I was laughing throughout the whole book. I could just picture some of the things going on behind the scenes especially with Billy Crystal. Some sad parts due to actors passing away and not knowing how big of a movie it really became years later. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of The Princess Bride and wants to learn more about the process behind the makings and to anyone who wants a good laugh.

200_s

Leave a Reply

